UNSPSC Classification System

The is a hierarchical classification that is used to classify all products and services providing an open, global multi-sector standard for efficient, accurate classification. It has five levels in its hierarchy. However, the State of Indiana only uses the first four levels. Each level of classification helps define the product or service on a more and more specific level of detail. Each level contains a two character numerical value and a textual description.

This hierarchy allows people looking for a product or service to use the higher level terms to narrow their search to the relevant domain that will most likely lead them to the desired item. When searching for a product or service and you cannot find the commodity, class or family you are looking for you will need to fill the missing levels with 00. This product and service coding convention allows an easier system for finding products or services to be purchased and vendors whom provide these products or services. Usually product information is acquired from different sources and is often classified under different taxonomies. This makes product indexing difficult and in many cases products end up being listed under several categories. International Harmonized Codes, a taxonomy used by many countries for customs tariff purposes, is one of the examples of such systems. Because of this problem, HC and similar taxonomies are not really suitable for ecommerce. UNSPSC classification aligns the supply chain, communicates its products to all sectors of electronic commerce, increases sales through desktop procurement application, and avoids the expense of maintaining proprietary classification code and so on.

For more information regarding UNSPSC Classification, please visit http://www.enventureonline.com/

By : Tien Lay|

Popular Comments

---- E M P T Y ----
Jump Page:1